Other states across the country might be on the verge of completely legalizing marijuana, but it is still against the law to possess the stuff in Texas. The penalties for possession or selling marijuana are hefty, so it is best to avoid this drug completely while you’re in Texas.
Even if you are caught with less than two ounces of marijuana, you could still face a fine of up to $2,000 and 180 days in jail. The penalties are much more severe if you are found in possession of hash, hash oil, or other marijuana concentrates, which is viewed as a felony.
Selling marijuana to a minor or selling over 50 pounds of the substance is considered a serious felony. A person convicted of these crimes will face a mandatory minimum sentence of at least five years. The maximum can be as high as 99 years under certain circumstances.
If it is a first offense, then a convicted person might be able to avoid jail time by completing a court-authorized rehabilitation program. Certain districts throughout Texas will allow this as a viable punishment; however, it is ultimately at the discretion of the judge.
If you or someone you know is facing marijuana possession charges in Texas, it is highly recommended that you consult with a San Antonio marijuana possession attorney as soon as possible. A qualified lawyer can review your case and recommend the best course of action needed to get the charges dismissed or reduced to a lesser charge.